First Run

Contents

Introduction

In this chapter we will discuss what happens when you run BibleReader 5 for the first time.

Top of Page

First Run Setting Screen (5.0.1)

When you start BibleReader 5 for the first time, you will see the following screen. (Note: This happens on the iPhone and iPod Touch but not on the iPad.)

Store

BibleReader will walk you through the three most basic settings, using on-screen prompts.

Settings can be changed at any time by tapping the Settings (letter A) icon on BibleReader’s main screen, then tapping the Advanced Settings button, and then tapping the “Easy Settings Configuration” menu option.

Top of Page

Reading Preference

The first setting is Reading Preference. There are two options: “Book Style With Margins” and “Full Screen Text.” “Book Style With Margins” is the default setting.

Store

I like that setting, so I will choose that and the tap the Save Choice and Continue button to save the setting and move to the next setting.

Top of Page

Scrolling Preference

The second setting is Scrolling Preference. There are two options: “Book Style Page Scrolling (Left to Right)” and “Flick Scrolling (Up and Down).” “Book Style Page Scrolling (Left to Right)” is the default setting.

Store

I prefer “Flick Scrolling,” so I will select that and tap the Save Choice and Continue button to save the setting and move to the next setting.

Store

Top of Page

Verse-Selection Preference

The third setting is Verse-Selection Preference. There are four options “Grid View (With Large Buttons),” “Compact Grid View (Fits all 66 Books),” “Full Book Name (Canonical Order),” and “Full Book Name (Alphabetical Order).” “Full Book Name (Canonical Order)” is the default setting

Store Store

I prefer “Compact Grid View (Fits all 66 Books),” so I will select that and tap the Save Choice and Continue button to save the setting.

Store

After you have selected your preferences for those three settings, you will see this screen.

Store

Notice that video tutorials are available in Olive Tree’s Learning Center.

Top of Page

What BibleReader 4 Settings Get Migrated to BibleReader 5

When you migrate from BibleReader 4 to BibleReader 5, you will be prompted to convert your notes, bookmarks, and highlights for use in BibleReader 5. Collectively, notes, bookmarks, and highlights are know as annotations.

Store

Tap the Convert Now button to convert—migrate—your annotations and to display a progress screen.

Store

When the conversion is complete, tap the Close Conversion Manager button (see graphic above).

The following settings are transferred to BR5.

  • Olive Tree User Name and Password
  • Scrolling Preferences
  • Default Reading Plan
  • Verse Per Line
  • Annotations (notes, bookmarks, highlights)
  • Library
  • Multicolumn (iPad only)

Top of Page

When Does Migration Happen

Migration happens when you start BibleReader 5 for the first time on your iPhone.

Top of Page

Migrating User Annotations

When you start BibleReader 5 for the first time on your iPhone, you are prompted to transfer your Annotations from BibleReader 4 to BibleReader 5. If you say No, please read the next section.

Top of Page

What Happens if the User Says No to Migrating Annotations

Each time you start BibleReader 5, you will be prompted to migrate your Annotations. The reason for the continued prompting is that migration can take time, depending on the number of Annotations you made in BibleReader 4, and BibleReader 5 is leaving it up to you to decide when you would like to transfer your Annotations.

Top of Page

What Happens if There Is an Error During Annotation Migration

If an error occurs during migration, migration continues and the error is logged automatically. BibleReader displays a screen that allows you to contact Olive Tree Support. Out of many tens of thousands of downloads in the first four months of BibleReader’s availability, only one person had a problem.

Top of Page

What Happens If a Phone Call Interrupts Migration

If a phone call interrupts migration, BibleReader 5 pauses. The next time you return to BibleReader 5, you are prompted to import your Annotations, and then the migration process continues from where it left off.

Top of Page

How Do Notes Synced with Evernote Get Migrated

If you have been using Evernote with BibleReader 4, your notes are migrated to BibleReader 5. For more information about how Evernote works with BibleReader 5, click here.

Top of Page

Are There Any Special Cases with Migration

The only special case has to do with folders. If in BibleReader 4 you have given identical names to folders, in BibleReader 5 all data is merged into one folder with the same name. This is a behind-the-scenes change only and does not affect or alter the data in your folders.

Top of Page